Expectations.

Good morning readers.. Love birds and those in search of. A swift thought came across me and I felt I’d share my wisdom.

Expectations and standards may seem to be similar in definition. They’re not.. Perhaps subcategories to each other. They go hand in hand but are not the same. I shall explain. To expect something or expect something of someone is the mere action of thinking ahead and having an answer or result in your mind & simply awaiting for it to transpire. A standard is a basic outline of you what you’d prefer.. To have standards is to knowing your self worth.. As to have expectation is to have faith..

..And I’d like to take you a bit deeper in my thought when I say that one shouldn’t expect anything from themselves.. From personal experience, you EXPECT when you don’t know.. Meaning you should know yourself. So where instead of expectations you produce goals.. Which are obtainable and requires no waiting game to see how it turns out.

Hope I didn’t lose you..

To bring you back to the surface of the subject… A teacher of mine once gave me wisdom by telling me: “the lower your expectation, the higher your serenity” simply meaning the less you expect the less disappointment you’ll gain. I’m sure many have had situations where someone near and dear to you did something so terrible it broke you down because you EXPECTED so much more from their character.. It’s a huge challenge to not have such high hopes… It’s no crime… It inevitable.. However, it’s something to think about before you engage in your next relationship, business deal, job or anything…

Words of Wisdom: make every encounter an experience that you learn from. Work on knowing more facts.. Do your research, ask questions.. Thereby gaining knowledge so that you can EXPECT less… && bask in your serenity… Because remember the only one your expectations effect is you. 

Hope you’ve pulled something out of this.. See you in my inbox..

Leave a comment